What's New

(NEWARK, January 14, 2008) – Sussex County Freeholder Susan M. Zellman was elected Chairwoman of the North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA) at today's Board of Trustees meeting, while Warren County Freeholder Director John DiMaio was named Second Vice Chairman.

The NJTPA creates long-term transportation plans and annually oversees investment of approximately $2.5 billion in federal and state surface transportation funding for 13 counties in northern and central New Jersey.
“Transportation is critical to the quality of life in our region,” Zellman said. “These are challenging times, as we seek to improve and expand travel options, spur sustainable economic growth, and ensure that our road and rail infrastructure is safe and well-maintained. I look forward to meeting these challenges and to leading the NJTPA as it continues to plan for the future.”

The NJTPA Board also selected its Executive Committee at the meeting. In addition to Zellman and DiMaio, the elected members of the Executive Committee are: Bergen County Executive Dennis McNerney, First Vice Chairman; and Morris County Freeholder Gene Feyl, Secretary. In accordance with NJTPA By-Laws, Freeholder Zellman appointed Hudson County Executive Thomas DeGise to the position of Third Vice Chairman.
Freeholder Zellman joined the NJTPA Board of Trustees following her initial election as a Sussex County Freeholder in 2000. She served as Chairman of the Project Prioritization Committee from 2003 to 2007 and has served on the Executive Committee since 2004. In Sussex County, she served as Freeholder Director in 2007 and 2002. She was instrumental in the formation of the Six County Coalition, which coordinates shared resources and initiatives on transportation, human services and safety issues in the six northwest counties. She also is a Trustee on the Board of TransOptions.

Freeholder Zellman is Executive Director of the Housing Partnership, a United Way Agency based in Dover. She is a resident of Stanhope, where she served as chairman of the Planning Board for seven years.



She also is a representative to the Lake Musconetcong Regional Planning Board, a member of the Sussex County Planning Board, founder of the Sussex County Planning Awards, and a member of the Sussex Strategic Growth Advisory Committee.

Freeholder DiMaio has served on the Warren County Board of Chosen Freeholders since 2000, and was elected by his colleagues to serve as Freeholder Director for the 2008 calendar year. A member of the NJTPA Board of Trustees since 2001, Freeholder DiMaio, who chairs the NJTPA's Planning and Economic Development Committee, was first elected to public office in 1979 at age 23, when he won a seat on Hackettstown’s Common Council. He later became Mayor of Hackettstown, serving three terms from 1991 through 1999. Also in 1999, he served as President of the New Jersey Conference of Mayors. Freeholder DiMaio is also a past President of the Warren County League of Municipalities.

The NJTPA is the metropolitan planning organization (MPO) for 13 northern New Jersey Counties. Under federal legislation, MPOs provide a forum where local officials, public transportation providers and state agency representatives can come together and cooperatively plan to meet the region’s current and future transportation needs. It establishes the region’s eligibility to receive federal tax dollars for transportation projects.
The NJTPA Board consists of one local elected official from each of the 13 counties in the region (Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union and Warren), and the cities of Newark and Jersey City. The Board also includes a Governor’s Representative, the Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation, the Executive Directors of NJ Transit and the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, and a Citizen’s Representative appointed by the Governor.

Click here to learn more about the NJTPA.

Return to What's New Homepage